The slate of officers for the AFP Greater Toronto Chapter Board of Directors will be elected by the membership on Thursday June 15, 2017.  Board members’ terms begin July 1st through to June 30th.  After the closing date of February 24th, the Committee of Directorship will meet and begin the process of reviewing all nomination forms.  Every candidate will receive a call from a member of the Committee on Directorship to thank them for their interest on serving on the board and will speak further about the Board positions in March.  Each candidate will be notified of their status in April.   The Committee on Directorship will make their recommendations and present a slate to the Board of Directors at their April Board meeting for approval.


The Board meets once a month, in the late afternoon evening and it is expected that you attend at least 75% of the meetings.  Meetings are usually held in the downtown core and in many cases you can attend by conference call.  Twice a year, we have a 4 hour strategic plan meeting where we meet face-to-face.  Board members will serve on one if not two sub-committees, acting as a Chair in some cases.

If you are not currently a donor, it is mandatory that you contribute no less than $100.00 per annum to AFP Foundation for Philanthropy – Canada.


The current Board of Directors is listed below.



PRESIDENT, Krishan Mehta, Ryerson University

PRESIDENT ELECT, Caroline Riseboro, Plan International Canada

PAST PRESIDENT, Ken Mayhew, William Osler Health System Foundation

VP FINANCE & SECRETARY, Elissa Beckett, MBA, CFRE, Tides Canada

VP GOVERNANCE, Rickesh Lakhani, CFRE, Future Possibilities for Kids


VP MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS, Mark Trask, Artsmarketing Services Inc.

VP MEMBERSHIP, Julia Gorman, United Way Toronto

VP PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT, Paula Attfield, Stephen Thomas Ltd.



Mide Akerewusi, AgentsC

Ken Aucoin, Habitat for Humanity, Greater Toronto Area

Marilyn Brown, Kids Help Phone

Seanna Millar, SickKids Foundation

Samantha Jones, MBA, Cause Marketing & Development Consultant

Sarah Midanik, Native Women’s Resources Centre of Toronto

Brad Offman, MBA, CFRE, Spire Philanthropy

Stewart Wong, Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital 



If you believe that you can fulfill the criteria set, then we ask you to click here which will take you to the nomination form to complete.